For inquiries about specific instruments and corresponding training please contact the responsible technical manager (marked with *). Accounting questions can be answered by the Materials Department Purchasing Office

Faculty Committee

  • Prof. Michael Chabinyc (Dept. Chair)

  • Prof. Susanne Stemmer

  • Prof. Dan Gianola

  • Prof. Angela Pitenis 


Ravit Silverstein

Lab Supervisor
Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM)*
Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM)*
Focus Ion Beam Microscopes (FIB)
Transmission Electron Microscopes (TEM)
High-Resolution TEM, Analytical Techniques
In-situ electron microscopy

Arda Genc

Transmission Electron Microscopy (TEM)*
High-Resolution TEM, Analytical Techniques
3D S/TEM and XEDS Tomography
Machine Learning and Computer Vision

Anna Kallistova

Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS)*     
X-Ray Photoelectronic Spectroscopy (XPS)*     
LEAP 3000X HR Atom Probe*


* Technical Manager


Materials Department Purchasing